Community and the Body of Christ

Hi Everyone,

We have been involved in the “Healing Waters” study for the past three weeks.  We began by exploring the idea of healing as a journey.  We moved on the discover that forgiveness is an interwoven element of healing, and its meaning goes far beyond letting go of resentments and offences.  Last Friday, January 24,   we continued our study by exploring grace, and discovered that grace is best experienced relationally and it dances to the same music as healing and forgiveness.  This Friday, January 31, we will work toward bringing things together as we celebrate the value of community and consider our own place in the Body of Christ.

That Time of the Year…

Oh the weather outside is frightful – sometimes – so let me remind you of our inclement weather policy:  If Shenendehowa Schools are closed or delayed on a Friday morning when we are planning to meet, our meeting for that day is cancelled.

Coming attractions:

Patchwork of Love quilting workshops have begun. Quilts made are given to the Mechanicville Area Community Services Center, for children who are victims of domestic violence.  All are invited; no experience necessary. Learn from the best! Fabric is available, extra sewing machine and everything needed to make a quilt is provided. Each workshop is from 9 AM to 5:30 PM in the church’s Hearth Room.  And here is the season schedule:

 

Wednesday, January 29

Thursday, February 6

Wednesday, February 12

Tuesday, February 18

Wednesday, February 26

Tuesday, March 4

Wednesday, March 12

Thursday, March 20

Wednesday, March 26

 

Book GroupWhat’s So Amazing About Grace by Phillip Yancy.  Discussion will be in Wednesday, January 29 at 7:00.  Even if you haven’t read the book, you can participate in the important discussion about grace and how we as a church and a people can extend it.

New Year – New Devo

Bring in your old devotional books this Friday for a swap out.  Take home a new one that someone else has already read.

I hope to see you all on Friday at 9:00 for Friday Morning Moms.

 

Grace and peace,

Denise